What did your 6 year old self want you to be when you grew up?

When I was 6 years old I saw my first magic trick. It was a stranger who did a coin trick on my dad. He had four coins that he magically transposed from one side of the table to the other. This was the first time I saw magic in person and the feeling I had at the time I will never forget.

I don’t know if I was more excited by the mystery of the impossible, or more so that my dad who I thought knew everything about life was dumbfounded. My dad not wanting to accept that he could not explain the trick immediately offered this stranger $10 to learn the trick. Like all magicians, the man refused to reveal his secret. Although I would have loved to have understood the workings of the trick at age 6 I’m now glad he refused. The feeling of wonder that stayed with me for years ignited my dream to one day be a magician. That and of course seeing David Copperfield fly on national television.

24 years have gone by and I’m currently hosting auditions to find assistants for my latest illusion. I won’t reveal much but all I can say is it involves spikes, fire and beautiful assistants.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

